Skip to main content

Theriot, Lanzas named University Faculty Scholars

Casey Theriot in her CVM lab. Photo by Nathan Latil/NC State Veterinary Medicine

Two members of the NC State College of Veterinary Medicine’s Department of Population Health and Pathobiology have been named to this year’s class of NC State University Faculty Scholars.

Cristina Lanzas, associate professor of infectious disease, and Casey Theriot, assistant professor of infectious disease are among the 24 university-wide faculty members earning the honor.

Cristina Lanzas
Cristina Lanzas

The University Faculty Scholars Program, launched in 2012, recognizes early- and mid-career faculty for significant academic achievements and contributions to NC State through teaching, scholarship and service to the university and the greater community.

Lanzas and Theriot both joined the CVM in 2015. During their time at the CVM, they have been parts of interdisciplinary research teams investigating antibiotic-resistant bacteria in food animals, and worked together for groundbreaking research on the impact of antibiotics on gut bacteria.

Lanzas’ lab conducts research on the epidemiology and ecology of infectious diseases in animal and human populations, with particular interest in the transmission of zoonotic pathogens and antimicrobial-resistant pathogens.

Theriot’s lab focuses on how the gastrointestinal tract’s microbiome and metabolome shape resistance against the bacterium Clostridium difficile and how gastrointestinal microbiota metabolize bile acids. Theriot earned her Ph.D. in microbiology from NC State.

University Faculty Scholars are nominated by individual colleges and are reviewed by senior faculty. Scholars keep their title through their NC State career. Lauren Schnabel, CVM associate professor of equine orthopedic surgery, earned the honor last year.

Previous CVM recipients include Ke Cheng, the Randall B. Terry, Jr. Distinguished Professor in Regenerative Medicine, and Troy Ghashghaei, professor of neurobiology (both in 2016); Jody Gookin, the FluoroScience Distinguished Professor in Veterinary Scholars Research Education and professor of internal medicine (2015); Sid Thakur, director of global health at the CVM and NC State (2014);  and Nanette Nascone-Yoder, associate professor of developmental biology (2012).