Skip to main content

NC State Veterinary Medicine News and Updates, October 2020

Fall foliage on the CVM campus
Fall foliage on the CVM campus. Photo by John Joyner/NC State Veterinary Medicine

Diversity and Inclusion

Donors and Support

  • When Staffordshire terrier Rowdy developed a fast-growing cancerous tumor, his owner feared she may lose her beloved friend. Thanks to NC State Veterinary Hospital clinicians, the Petco Foundation and the Blue Buffalo Cancer Treatment Fund, things are looking up.
  • A new scholarship endowment from the class of 1989’s Linda Kuhn exemplifies her personal philosophy: “We make a living by what we get, and we make a life by what we give.”
  • The National Institutes of Health and the United States Food and Drug Administration award five years of additional funding for two national surveillance programs tracking bacterial pathogens at the CVM, the only place in the United States home to both monitoring systems.

Faculty and Staff

  • Julie Nettifee named American Humane Veterinary Nurse Hero of the Year.
  • For the pork industry, forecasting disease outbreaks would change the game. New research from Gustavo Machado is leading the way.
  • Welcome to the CVM family: Meet Brandi Bush, house officer coordinator.
  • David Dorman recognized by NC State as an outstanding faculty member.
  • Greg Lewbart’s work with the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s Galapagos Science Center to repatriate vulnerable giant tortoises into the wild highlighted by UNC.
  • A study co-authored by Mac Law finds that vitamin D deficiency during early development can disrupt the metabolic balance between growth and fat accumulation. 

Students and Alumni

  • The class of 2021’s Beth Lewis and Sara Tufts earn scholarships from the American Association of Equine Practitioners’ Foundation for the Horse.
  • The class of 2016’s Daniel Boykin talks about the internship experiences that helped shape his already-impressive career in the swine industry.
  • The class of 2022’s Allyson Patterson, the class of 2021’s Caitlyn Mullins and 1988 alumnus Pat Comyn receive top honors from the American Association of Bovine Practitioners.