Skip to main content

Four Students, One Faculty Member Receive 2016 AAAP Awards

female walks in barn feeding chickens

Four students and one faculty member from the North Carolina State University College of Medicine (CVM) were honored at the 59th annual conference of the American Association of Avian Pathologist (AAAP) held August 6-9 in San Antonio, Texas.

CVM students Brandon Armwood and Sarah Reichelt were two of five students in the nation to receive AAAP Foundation /Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarship Awards valued at $5,000 each. The scholarships  are awarded on the basis of a brief essay describing the student’s career goals, their experience related to poultry health and/or poultry food safety, academic record and two letters of recommendation. Both are fourth-year students, (class of 2017). Armwood also received a Schwartz Travel Award Scholarship to defray travel expenses to attend the annual meeting of the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA).

Receiving the Richard B. Rimler Memorial Paper award was Nik M. Faiz, who recently graduated with a Ph.D. from the Comparative Biomedical Sciences program and is now on the faculty of the Universiti Putra Malaysia. The award is presented for a one-to-two-page abstract describing original research done by the student, an oral presentation about the research to the Avian Medicine Section of the annual meeting of the AVMA, academic record, career goals and a letter of recommendation. The scholarship defrays travel expenses to the AVMA meeting.

First-year student William Shaw, (class of 2020), was one of two students receiving an A.S. “Rosy” Rosenwald Award for the best student poster presented at the AAAP annual meeting.  The poster must deal with some aspect of poultry health or disease, with awards being given on the basis of scientific content and clarity of presentation. Each award is valued at $200.

The P.P. Levine Award is presented for the best academic paper published in the international journal Avian Diseases, published quarterly by the AAAP. This year’s recipient of the $1,000 award was Isabel Gimeno, associate professor of poultry health management in the Department of Population Health and Pathology. Gimeno has been a member of the CVM faculty since 2006. Her winning entry, co-authored with doctors Cores, Faiz, Hernandez-Ortiz, Guy, Hunt and Silva, was entitled Evaluation of the Protection Efficacy of a Serotype 1 Marek’s Disease Virus-Vectored Bivalent Vaccine Against Infectious Laryngotracheitis and Marek’s Disease”.  

The American Association of Avian Pathologists is an international association whose mission is to promote scientific knowledge to enhance the health, well-being, and productivity of poultry to provide safe and abundant food for the world.

~Steve Volstad/NC State Veterinary Medicine