Skip to main content

CVM Students Earn Bovine Association Honors

Baby cow feeding on milk bottle by hand child
The American Association of Bovine Practitioners regularly honors CVM students and faculty.

Two NC State College of Veterinary students have won Bovine Veterinary Student Recognition Awards from Merck Animal Health and the American Association of Bovine Practitioners.

The Class of 2020’s Janelle Wiser and the Class of 2021’s Caitlyn Mullins are among 18 winners of the $5,000 scholarship open to third- and fourth-year veterinary students nationwide. They will pick up the honors next month at the AABP’s annual conference in St. Louis.

Wiser is also one of 10 students across the country receiving a $5,000 AABP Foundation-Zoetis Scholarship, which honors fourth-year students preparing to launch careers as bovine veterinarians.

Last year, Derek Foster, CVM assistant professor of ruminant health management, received the Student Chapter Advisor Award from the AABP in honor of his impactful mentorship.

CVM students are regularly singled out for recognition by the AABP, an international association of more than 6,000 leaders in cattle health. Last year, 2019 graduates Danielle Mzyk and Nate Baribault won the AABP Foundation-Zoetis Scholarship.