Skip to main content

CVM Students Awarded AAAP Scholarships

baby chicks in coop

Several NC State College of Veterinary Medicine students picked up honors from the American Association of Avian Pathologists at the organization’s annual meeting last week in Washington.

The Class of 2021’s Grayson Walker received a $5,000 AAAP Foundation/Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarship, awarded to veterinary students dedicated to poultry health. Walker is an alumnus of the NC State’s Goodnight Scholars Program.

The AAAP Foundation/Elanco Memorial Scholarship was given to the Class of 2022’s Hannah Sather. Sather also received the L. Dwight Schwartz Travel Scholarship, which covers the cost of attending the American Veterinary Medical Association’s annual conference.

Jewell Bremer and Rachel Thiemann, both of the Class of 2020, were awarded the Kenneth H. Eskelund Preceptorship Scholarship, which helps defray expenses while attending poultry medicine training programs.

The CVM was a strong presence at the meeting, held Aug. 2-5 in conjunction with the American Veterinary Medical Association’s annual convention. Oscar Fletcher, dean emeritus and professor of poultry health management who retired in June, was the keynote speaker at the opening session, presenting selected cases from his career.

Rocio Crespo, who joined the CVM faculty this year as the professor of poultry health management, was named president-elect of the American College of Poultry Veterinarians.

The AAAP is the preeminent international association of veterinarians, researchers, pathologists and students focused on avian and poultry medicine.

~Jordan Bartel/NC State Veterinary Medicine